Microsoft joins Dynamic Spectrum Alliance that will focus on TV White Spaces

23 companies and organizations announced formation of the Dynamic Spectrum Alliance. Microsoft and MediaTek are some of its founding members.

The Dynamic Spectrum Alliance is aimed at promoting regulatory policies to address growing wireless data and digital divide challenges.

The initial members of Dynamic Spectrum Alliance include: 6Harmonics, Adaptrum, BSkyB, Carlson, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research – South Africa, Computer and Communication Research Center – Taiwan, Indigo Telecom, InterDigital, Microsoft, MediaTek, Network Startup Resource Center (University of Oregon), Neul, National Institute of Information and Communications Technology – Japan (NICT), RealTek, Ruckus Wireless, Singapore Institute for Infocomm Research (I2R), StarHub, Strathclyde Centre For White Space Communications, Tanzania Commission for Science and Technology (COSTECH), Taiwan Institute for Information Industry, UhuruOne, WaveTek and White Space Technologies Africa.

The Dynamic Spectrum Alliance on Monday said it will exploit inefficiently used radio frequencies to create wireless connectivity. It says unused TV band frequency is an example.

Development of rural broadband and smart cities will also be the focus areas of the Dynamic Spectrum Alliance, which will be technology neutral and support a variety of standards-based and proprietary technologies.