Tata Docomo to add 1,000 telecom sites to expand 3G to 53 towns in Karnataka

Indian telecom operator Tata Docomo on Thursday said it would add 1,000 new telecom sites to expand its 3G services to 43 more towns in Karnataka by the end of next month.

The 3G network coverage will be extended to a total of 53 towns across Karnataka, including Shimoga, Bellary, Tumkur, Chikmaglur, Raichur, Mandya and Madikeri.

The company already has 3G service in 10 major towns of Bangalore, Mysore, Mangalore, Manipal, Udupi, Hubli, Belgaum, Dharwad, Hospet and Gulburga.

The telecom plans to enhance the 3G network coverage and presence in the region by adding an additional 1,000 cell sites to increase its network footprints to over 3,100 cell sites by July 31.

“With the network expansion we are now poised for a healthy growth in terms of better revenue and increasing profitability… By increasing the footprint, customers can now avail our portfolio of 3G services at affordable rates,” said Tata Docomo’s Mobility Business Unit Head (Karnataka Circle) Rohit Tandon.

In Karnataka, Tata Docomo offers 100 MB of 3G data absolutely free to new customers. It will offer 1 GB 3G mobile Internet at Rs 155 with validity of 30 days.