ZTE secures the highest level of security certification; it is enough to convince India government?

In the wake of security related issues that
started threatening the future income of ZTE in few mobile markets, the Chinese
equipment vendor announced that it has been awarded the ISO 15408 Common
Criteria Certificate for its GSM equipment.

ZTE has become the first telecom company in
the world to get the ISO 15408 Common Criteria (CC) Certificate for its GSM
equipment MSCS (Mobile Switching Center Server). The ISO 15408 Common Criteria
(CC) Certificate is currently the highest level of security certification for
telecom equipments. 

Recently, the Department of
Telecommunications in India shared its inconvenience to receive bid for GSM
phone lines of BSNL, India’s leading telecom operator, from the Chinese
equipment vendor. DoT’s main contention is the security issues. India does not
trust Chinese companies and government officials feel that working with ZTE
will be a threat for the country’s security.

It is time to avoid such fears. If many
private operators are working with ZTE and ZTE has major presence in several
countries, Indian government should be able to rethink about their strategies.
In the last two years, India’s wireless infrastructure segment growth was not
in line with the anticipation due to the security related issues.

“We are delighted to receive the ISO
15408 CC, which is the highest level of security certification globally. This
amply demonstrates ZTE’s seriousness towards complying with global security
standards and offer superior products and solutions that are reliable and
secure,” said ZTE India CEO Cui Liangjun.

A ZTE press release said currently Common
Criteria (CC) is the internationally recognized information technology security
certification required. The standard adopted in this certification is
IEC/ISO15408, which is also known as the CC standard, or the Common Criteria
for Information Technology Security Evaluation. CC certification is managed by
the national security agency of each CC member state. There are 26 CC member
states, including European nations, the United States and Japan, as well as
emerging countries such as India.

The CC certification includes the evaluation
of technologies such as security performance, loophole analysis, encryption
technology and product manual. It also includes systematic evaluations of the
entire process from R&D procedure and configuration management to
production and shipping.

By Telecomlead.com Team
[email protected]