Aegis Graham Bell Awards 2012: Airtel, Idea, Reliance, Vodafone, Ericsson, NSN, Cisco, etc. bag innovation awards from 140 nominations

Telecom Lead India: Winners of Aegis Graham Bell Awards 2012 include companies such as Airtel, Idea Cellular, Reliance Communications, Vodafone, Ericsson, Nokia Siemens, Cisco, Comviva, among others.

The winners of the jury awards for TIME (Telecom, Internet, Media and Edutainment categories) was announced on Thursday in New Delhi.

The awards, an initiative of Aegis School of Business, honored the best innovations in the field of TIME.

“PwC has developed a decision matrix to validate the awards on various parameters and further it is evaluated by the prominent jury member based on the presentation given by the participating companies. This process is the most transparent and rigorous in nature,” said Somick Goswami, director, Consulting, PwC.

See the pictures of the jury rounds in Delhi here.

“Recognizing the innovations is the first step towards developing the eco system for innovation in India,” said V P Chandan, chairman of the jury and director of Aegis School of Business and Telecom.

Aegis Graham Bell Awards received over 140 nominations from over 80 companies in two jury rounds.

Award Winners List

Award Category Winner
Aegis Graham Bell Scholar 2012 for studying Masters in Telecom Management  Abhishek Pandey
Innovation in mMoney Airtel
 Innovation in Cloud Service Cisco & Net Monastery& TechMahindra
Converged Media Platform Ealaxy
Innovative Managed Services BigV
Innovation in mCommerce Comviva
 Innovation in Green Telecom                                            Indus & Tejas
 Innovation in mEntertainment                                      Zenga Media
Innovation in Test & Measurment Solutions Kochar & Agilent
Mobile Apps for Consumers                                         Opera & Comviva
Innovation in mAdvertising                                     Hoopz
 Innovative Value Added Services                                          CanvasM & Spice
 Innovation in TV, Broadcast & DTH Star TV
Innovation in Innovation in mHealth Idea Brahma
 Innovation in Customer Care One Click & TCS
Innovation in Social Media ADG
Innovation in Telecom Infrastructure Cisco & Railtel
 Innovative Vendor Telecom Product Coral, NSN & Ericsson
Innovation in mEducation                              Expert Voicetap
 Innovative Telecom Business Model                           Idea & Comviva
Innovative Advertisement Campaign                              Mahindra Satyam
Mobile Apps for Enterprise Intelenet
Mobile Enterprise Product/Solution                       Mobiquest
Mobile Technology Breakthrough Hidden Brains
Innovative Bundled Services                                  Liqvid
Unified Communication Infosys & Cohesive
Network Management Solutions                                     Ericsson
Best Broadband Data Network Reliance
Best Mobile Phone Service Provider Airtel
Special recognition for innovation in m2m (non Jury recognition for future growth areas) Amdocs


Abhijit Gangopadhyay, Dean Aegis School of Business, unveiled the T20 of Indian Telecom, a list of Top 20 stars driving the Indian telecom industry. This list is prepared by Aegis in consultation with knowledge partner PwC and various experts of telecom industry.

Name Designation Company
Akhil Gupta Deputy Group CEO & MD Bharti Enterprises
CP Gurnani Managing Director Tech Mahindra
Rahul Khullar Chairman TRAI
Fredrik Jejdling Regional Head & President Ericsson
Himanshu Kapania MD Idea
Manoj H Modi Director Reliance Infotel
Marten Pieters CEO & MD Vodafone
R Chandrashekhar Secretary, DOT and Chairman Telecom Commission
RK Bahuguna MD RailTel Corporation of India Ltd.
Rajan Mathews Director General COAI
Rakesh Kumar Upadhay Chairman & MD BSNL
Sam Pitroda Chairman, National Innovation Council, Adviser to the Prime Minister on Public Information Infrastructure & Innovations Govt. of India
Sandeep Girotra Regional Head Nokia Siemens Networks
Sandip Das CEO Director Aircel & CEO Maxis Communications
Sanjay Kapoor CEO – India & South Asia, Bharti Airtel Bharti Airtel
Sanjay Nayak CEO & MD Tejas Networks
Srinath Narasimhan Managing Director Tata Teleservices Ltd.
Sunil Bharti Mittal Founder, Chairman and Group CEO Bharti Enterprises
Vimal Wakhlu CMD  TCIL


[email protected]