Qualcomm leads cellular baseband market with 45% share

Telecom Lead America: Chip maker Qualcomm is leading the cellular
baseband market with 45 percent market share in 2011. Qualcomm is ahead of
Intel, MediaTek, Texas Instruments and ST-Ericsson.

Qualcomm led the cellular baseband market with the assistance
of its position in CDMA, LTE and W-CDMA basebands.

Qualcomm, Intel, MediaTek, Texas Instruments and ST-Ericsson
are the top 5 players in baseband market in 2011.

Intel has 15 percent revenue share in 2011. Intel ranked
number two. Multiple popular products from tier-one handset manufacturers used
Intel basebands in 2011.

Growth of Broadcom and Spreadtrum outstripped market growth
in terms of both units and revenue.

Broadcom continued to improve its product-mix. W-CDMA
basebands accounted for 16 percent of its total 2011 baseband shipments, nearly
doubled from 2010. On the strength of its baseband-integrated smartphone
processors momentum, Broadcom’s W-CDMA baseband share will again improve in

The cellular baseband processor market grew 15 percent
year-on-year to reach $15.1 billion in 2011, according to Strategy Analytics.

Qualcomm is well-positioned to make significant share gains
in the emerging LTE baseband market in 2012. Qualcomm continues to leverage its
baseband modem expertise to ride the 3G / 4G wave, and captured 45 percent
share of the baseband market in 2011,” said Stuart Robinson, director, Strategy
Analytics Handset Component Technologies (HCT) service, Strategy Analytics.

In 2011, demand for smartphones, intense competition in
low-end phones and new air interface technologies – such as LTE and TD-SCDMA –
created opportunities and altered the market share landscape.

Baseband-integrated smartphone applications processors and
cellular-enabled non-handset devices – such as USB dongles, M2M, e-book readers
and tablets – provided a significant boost to some baseband companies.

The market for basebands for LTE, in unit terms, grew faster
than basebands supporting any other air interface in 2011.