Axiata names Vivek Sood and Hans Wijayasuriya as Joint CEOs

Telecom operator Axiata Group has appointed Vivek Sood and Hans Wijayasuriya as interim Joint Acting CEOs.
Axiata MalaysiaVivek Sood and Hans Wijayasuriya will replace Dato’ Izzaddin Idris, the current President and Group CEO of Axiata, who’ll step down on 31 May 2022.

Hans Wijayasuria is currently Axiata’s Chief Executive Officer for its Telecommunications Business. Vivek Sood is currently Axiata’s Chief Financial Officer. They will retain their current positions and portfolios, the telecom operator said in a news statement. Axiata will not make additional structural or senior leadership changes in the near-term.

Dato’ Izzaddin was the Group CEO of Axiata over the two years. He took the top position on 1 January 2021. He served as a member of Axiata’s Board since November 2016, he was steadfast in translating the Axiata 5.0 Vision into execution.