MTN revises strategy, brings new leadership team

MTN announced a new leadership team in line with the review of the strategy with a focus on accelerating business growth.
MTN store South AfricaMTN, which has 260 million mobile phone customers on its network, will present the revised strategy in more detail following the release of MTN’s 2020 full-year results in March 2021.

MTN announced the appointment of a new chief financial officer (GCFO) as well as changes to the company’s regional structure and the Group Exco.

Tsholofelo Molefe is the new group CFO of MTN. Tsholofelo (51) will take up the position as soon as practically possible in 2021, but by no later than 1 October 2021.

She is a qualified chartered accountant, and brings financial, risk and telecommunications experience. As Telkom’s GCFO since 2018, as well as its Chief Risk Officer and Deputy CFO prior to that, Tsholofelo played a key role in the strategic transformation programmes at Telkom.

MTN Group Exco:

Ralph Mupita – Group President and Chief Executive Officer

Tsholofelo Molefe – Group Chief Financial Officer

Jens Schulte-Bockum – Group Chief Operations Officer

Godfrey Motsa – MTN South Africa CEO

Karl Toriola – MTN Nigeria CEO (effective 1 March 2021)

Yolanda Cuba – Vice President SEA (effective 1 January 2021)

Ebenezer Asante – Vice President WECA (effective 1 January 2021)

Ismail Jaroudi – Vice President MENA

Serigne Dioum – Group Chief Digital and Fintech Officer (effective 1 January 2021)

Ferdi Moolman – Group Chief Risk Officer (effective 1 March 2021)

Lele Modise – Group Chief Legal Counsel

Felleng Sekha – Group Chief Regulatory and Corporate Affairs Officer

Paul Norman – Group Chief Human Resources Officer

Charles Molapisi – Group Chief Information and Technology Officer

Kholekile Ndamase – Group Chief M&A and Business Development Officer

Changes to the regional structure

MTN Ghana will become part of the Group’s West and Central Africa (WECA) region, a natural fit due to its geographic location in the region. MTN’s Southern and East Africa and Ghana (SEAGHA) region will be known as the Southern and East Africa (SEA) region.

Ebenezer Asante, the SEAGHA vice president since 2017, will become the new WECA vice president, and Yolanda Cuba, the Group’s chief digital and fintech officer, will take the helm as the SEA vice president.

Ebenezer, 52, joined MTN in 2008 and is an experienced executive who has held senior positions in the Group, including CEO of MTN Ghana and CEO of MTN Rwanda. He is also a board member on a number of companies within the Group.

Yolanda, 43, joined MTN in January 2020. Prior to that, she was Vodacom’s chief officer of Strategy and M&A and CEO of Vodafone Ghana.

The SEA region is critical to MTN’s growth ambitions and presents opportunity for growth in mobile financial services. It also has the largest potential for further expansion. With her experience in telecoms and finance, Yolanda will play a key role in driving growth and strategic progress in the region.

Serigne Dioum, group executive for Mobile Financial Services, will join the Exco as the group chief digital and fintech officer. Serigne, 46, joined MTN in 2009 and has an established track record in the telecoms sector, with strong experience in mobile financial services (MFS).

Before joining MTN, he held senior positions in MFS, operational marketing, value-added services and data at Orange. Serigne is an experienced to drive digital innovation and financial inclusion as well as build and scale these platforms as part of MTN’s growth strategy.

Kholekile Ndamase, group executive for Mergers and Acquisitions (M&A), will assume the new Exco role of group chief M&A and business development officer. Kholekile, 40, joined MTN in 2016 from RMB, where he led the equity-based financing business and was responsible for financing solutions and M&A execution.

These executive changes follow those announced in October: Karl Toriola as CEO designate of MTN Nigeria and Ferdi Moolman’s appointment to the new exco role of Group Chief Risk Officer. Both are effective from 1 March 2021.