Airtel doubles investment in Arunachal Pradesh

Airtel growth
Telecom network operator Bharti Airtel today it has doubled its networks investment in Arunachal Pradesh in the current year.

The company did not reveal specific details of its network related investment and the number of 2G and 3G cellular sites in the Arunachal Pradesh state.

Earlier, Bharti Airtel announced plans to make an investment of Rs 60,000 crore or around $9 billion in the next three years — under a revolutionary program called Project Leap — for improving its network quality and enhancing customer experience.

Interestingly, Vodafone India, Reliance Communications, Idea Cellular, BSNL and Tata Docomo are yet to make any announcements on additional investment to spruce up their telecom networks in their mobile circles.

Airtel has also launched its 2G / 3G services in more than 100 villages across Palin, Seppa and Sagalee region in Arunachal Pradesh.

Bharti Airtel has also kicked off its network transformation program Project Leap in North East and Assam. Airtel has 35,62,787 customers in the North East region as of 30 September 2015, according to the recent TRAI data. The TRAI data said Airtel had 35,47,838 customers in NE in August 2015.

While Bharti Airtel has increased its wireless customer base to 35,62,787 from 35,47,838 in NE in September, Aircel, the second largest player in NE, posted a dip in subscriber base to 29,69,360 from 30,35,664.

“We see Project Leap as a strategic initiative and we will invest heavily in upgrading our network and providing seamless customer experience across various technologies,” said Saurabh Goel, CEO, North East and Assam, Bharti Airtel.

Airtel covers more than half of Arunachal with its network footprint covering approximately 55 percent of the total population of the hilly state, starting from Balukpung to Tawang. Airtel’s network covers key areas including Ziro, Daporijo, Raga, Along, Pasighat, Khonsa, Basar. Bomdila, Deomali, Jairampur, Naharlagun, Namsai, Jang, Sela Pass, Tenga valley, Bhalukpung, Dumporijo, Jamiri, Bana and Tippi.

Baburajan K
[email protected]