GSMA elects Jose Alvarez-Pallete as Chair, and Gopal Vittal as Deputy Chair

The GSMA has elected new members of the GSMA Board of Directors for a two-year term beginning 1 January 2023 through 31 December 2024.
GSMA at MWC 2015
The GSMA Board has also elected Jose Maria Alvarez-Pallete Lopez CEO of Telefonica Group, as Chair, and Gopal Vittal, CEO of Bharti Airtel Group as Deputy Chair.

As GSMA Chair, Jose Maria Alvarez-Pallete López will oversee the strategic direction of the organization, which represents the world’s mobile operators and companies in the broader mobile ecosystem.

GSMA Board Members for the 2023-2024 Term

There are 26 members of the GSMA Board. Members include senior representatives from global mobile operators as well as smaller independent operators. The GSMA Board for the 2023-2024 term includes, in alphabetical order:

Carlos M. Jarque, Executive Director, International Relations, Government & Corporate Affairs, America Movil Group

Igal Elbaz, Senior Vice President, Network CTO, AT&T Group

Dr. Hans Wijayasuriya, CEO Telecommunications Business & Joint Acting Group CEO, Axiata Group

Gopal Vittal, CEO, Bharti Airtel Group

Gao Tonqing, Executive Vice President, China Mobile Communications Group

Li Jun, Executive Vice President, China Telecom Group

China Unicom

Dominique Leroy, Board Member for Europe, Deutsche Telekom Group

Hatem Dowidar, Group CEO, e& Group

Frehiwot Tamru, CEO, Ethio Telecom

Mats Granryd, Director General, GSMA

Makoto Takahashi, President and Group CEO, KDDI

Hyeonmo Ku, President & CEO, KT

Jens Schulte-Bokum, COO, MTN Group

Michaël Trabbia, Chief Technology & Innovation Officer, Orange Group

Mathew Oommen, President & Member of Board of Directors, Reliance Jio

Yuen Kuan Moon, Group CEO, Singtel

Olayan M. Alwetaid, Group CEO, STC

Roberto Daniel Nobile, CEO, Telecom Argentina SA

Pietro Labriola, Group CEO and General Manager, Telecom Italia

Jose Maria Alvarez-Pallete Lopez, CEO, Telefonica Group

Sigve Brekke, President and Group CEO, Telenor

Vicki Brady, Group CEO, Telstra

Kaan Terzioglu, Group CEO, Veon

Rima Qureshi, Executive Vice President and Chief Strategy Officer, Verizon

Ahmed Essam, CEO, Vodafone UK, Vodafone Group